Dr. Kalachand Sain (Working at WIHG on lien)

Kalachand Sain received his M.Sc.(Tech) in Applied Geophysics from Indian School of Mines, Dhanbad in 1988 and Ph.D. in Controlled Source Seismology from Osmania University (CSIR-NGRI), Hyderabad. He visited Cambridge University (UK) and Rice University (USA) as a post-doctoral fellow, and USGS in Menlo Park (USA) as a visiting Scientist. He is a Chief Scientist & Head of Seismic Group at CSIR-NGRI that has three wings: Deep Seismics, Shallow Seismics and Marine Seismics. He is working on seismic attenuation & other attributes, meta-attribute, travel-time tomography, AVO modeling, 1-D & 2-D full-waveform inversion, impedance inversion, prestack depth migration, rock physics modeling. His main interests include (i) delineation and assessment of gas-hydrates, (ii) imaging sub-volcanic sediments, and (iii) understanding geotectonics and earthquake processes of Indian provinces including the Himalaya from geophysical data. He has published 125 research papers in peer-review scientific journals, 98 non-SCI articles/reports, and guided for 5 doctoral theses and 65 M.Sc./M.Sc(Tech.) dissertations. He has been recognized by a number of awards/fellowships/honours; notable among them are (i) Fellow of National Academy of Sciences, India (2011); Andhra Pradesh Academy of Sciences (2010); Telangana State Academy of Sciences (2016), (ii) Distinguished Alumnus Award (2017) of IIT(ISM); AP Scientist Award (2011); Young Scientist Award (1998) of CSIR; National Mineral Award (2005) by Ministry of Mines; Best Paper Award (2012) published in Gondwana Research (IF=8.23); Best Poster Award (2007) by Int. Con. on Oil & Gas by PETROTECH; Swarnajayanti Project Award (2001) by DST, (iii) Raman Fellowship (2003) by CSIR; BOYSCAST Fellowship (1999) by DST, (iv) Krishnan Gold Medal (1996); Anni Talwani Memorial Prize (2014) & Decennial Award (2016) by IGU, (v) Prem Bahadur Memorial Lecture (2009) by IGC, etc. He is a member of numerous Committees like the Bureau Member of International Lithosphere Program under IUGG (2007-2015); Hon. Secretary of Indian Geophysical Union (2014 onward); Indian National Gas Hydrates Program (2000 onward); Alternate delegate of Asia pacific region to AAPG House of Delegates (2015-2017), and Editorial Boards of Int. Journals such as 'Jour. of Geological Soc. of India & First Track Articles', 'Open Access Jour. of Geophys. & Remote Sensing', and Open Access Int. Jour. of Geosci. Research'. He has served as a Guest Editor in 3 special issues on gas-hydrates in 'Marine & Petroleum Geology' (2011, 2014, 2018) by Elsevier and as a member of Editorial Board for the second edition of 'Encyclopedia for Solid Earth Geophysics' by Springer.

 Personal Page: https://kalachandsain.wixsite.com/saink external link

Page Last Updated On : 06-05-2022