Significant results in crustal scale seismic research at the Institute include delineation of the south-easterly dipping West Bengal sedimentary basin and the Hinge zone (relict of continental and proto-oceanic crustal boundary formed during the rifting of India from Antarctic) using seismic refraction tomography, delineation of sub-Trappean Mesozoic sediments in Saurashtra peninsula and Deccan Volcanic Province, imaging of sub-Trappean Gondwana sediments from CDP seismic reflection data in south Rewa basin, detection of hidden active faults in Kutch which can be associated with the seismicity.

A technique of finite difference full wave form modeling and imaging of tilted transverse isotropic media has been developed for specialized applications for hydrocarbon exploration in fold-thrust belts and similar active mountainous areas. 


Name Designation
Dr. Prakash Kumar external link Director
Dr. Behera L Chief Scientist
Dr. Biswajit Mandal Senior Principal Scientist
Dr. Maheswar Ojha Principal Scientist
Dr. Ranjana Ghosh Principal Scientist
Dr. Damodara Nara Scientist
Dr. Shib Sankar Ganguli Scientist
Mr. Venkat Rao N Senior Technical Officer (2)
Dr. Vivekanand Pandey Senior Technical Officer (2)
Mr. Karuppannan P Senior Technical Officer (1)
Mr. Sai Vijaykumar P Senior Technical Officer (1)
Dr. Kiranmai Samudrala Senior Technical Officer (1)
Mr. Prem Kumar N Technical Officer
Mrs. Renuka K Technical Officer
Mr.Rafique Shamshoddin Mohd Technical Officer
Mr. Satendra Singh Technical Officer
Mr. Das K Senior Technician (1)
Mr. Rama Rao G Technician (2)


Page Last Updated On : 27-06-2023